Enacted on April 11, 1968, the Federal Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination in housing because of race or color; national origin; religion; sex; familial status (including children under the age of 18 who are living with parents or legal custodians; pregnant women and people securing custody of children under 18); and handicap (disability).

In the sale and rental of housing, no one may take any of the following actions based on race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status or handicap:

  • Refuse to rent or sell housing;
  • Refuse to negotiate for housing;
  • Make housing unavailable;
  • Deny a dwelling;
  • Set different terms, conditions or privileges for sale or rental of a dwelling;
  • Provide different housing services or facilities;
  • Falsely deny that housing is available for inspection, sale, or rental;
  • Persuade owners to sell or rent (blockbusting) or
  • Deny anyone access to or membership in a facility or service (such as a multiple listing service) related to the sale or rental of housing.

For the most complete information on the Fair Housing Act visit the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development Web site at www.hud.gov.